Week 15 Art Experience – Finger Painting

Here we are, our last week in ART 110. Time has really flown by. Our final Art Experience was Finger Painting! I don’t think I’ve finger painted since I was in elementary school, so this was definitely a blast from the past.

Speaking of blast, I gotta admit, I had a blast doing this project. I opened my bag and saw I had green, red and black paint, and the first thing that came to my mind was CHRISTMAS. I had that idea in my head, but I just kind of let my finger move around and do its thing. I used my right ring finger because I wanted to go for light strokes in certain areas, and I feel like the ring finger isn’t too strong or harsh.

Finger painting was a lot easier than I expected. I remember trying to be competitive in elementary school and trying to have the “best” or “prettiest” art projects and comparing them to my peers, so I think, back then, it was harder in a way because I was trying so hard. But now, when you are just doing it for yourself, it is a lot easier and more fun, I think.

This project was a lot different from our previous Graffiti Writing project because, with that project, we knew we were supposed to end up producing our name. My mind immediately went to the letters I needed to write E-M-I-L-Y, or whatever letters are in our name. With this finger painting project, we are free to do whatever we want. There is no set product in mind, which is really relaxing and liberating. That’s why I enjoyed this project so much because, during finals week, it’s nice to do an activity that just helps you relax, unwind and have a little fun.

Leave a Reply

