Week 9 Art Experience – Art Care Package

On October 21, 1991, my parents, Jim and Kristi Tomasello, got married, and last Friday, they celebrated their 25th wedding anniversary. Getting to celebrate this milestone with my parents was very important to me. They have both shown me so much love and support throughout my entire life, and I thought it would be nice to send them a care package. I do plan on sending my mom one, but this week, I’m sending my first care package to my dad, Jim, in San Pedro, California.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

 

My dad is and will always be the most important man in my life. He has taught me and given me so much in my twenty years, and I hope I can one day give him what he has given me. In this care package, I have packed a few items that remind me of him.

In the back, I packed a Nat King Cole vinyl LP featuring the song “Unforgettable”. I packed this because my family likes to dedicate this song to my grandpa, Tony (my dad’s dad) because that was the best word to describe him: unforgettable. He passed away in 2008, but I can see so much of my grandpa in my dad. In a way, I feel like that is another way my grandpa can live on, through my dad. Therefore, I believe my did will always be unforgettable, too.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

In front of the LP is my dad’s “will” that he wrote when he was in high school, which was just a joke but I still think it’s pretty funny to see what meant a lot to him back then versus what means a lot to him now. I added that in there because I think this shows that my dad has had the same humor since he was in high school. Looking through his yearbooks and things like that makes me feel like he would be the type of guy I would be friends with in high school and even today. He was and is that goofy guy that can always put a smile on someone’s face.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Next, I’m sending him his old baseball glove. Baseball was my dad’s life when he was younger. He was the star player who was so passionate about that game. Today, my dad is still passionate about the game, whether he’s watching it behind the TV screen or sitting in the stands. Baseball will always be a huge part of his life.

On top of the glove, I decided to send my dad some pictures. One picture is of him, my sister and I flexing our sweet tattoos. We just look so intimidating, don’t we? The other picture is my mom with my and my sister. His girls forever…

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

I’m sending my dad this stack of quarters as a little joke because, recently, he has been talking to me about finances and saving money. This tiny stack adds up to $10, so I wanted to show him how a little can go a long way, just like he taught me.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

I decided to send my dad these old tickets to Disneyland and a ticket to a 1978 USC football game. I’m sending my dad the Disneyland tickets because he always used to take us there before it started getting ridiculously expensive. Some of my favorite and happiest memories were spent there with my family at Disneyland. I’m sending him the USC ticket because he is a proud Trojan alumni, and I want him to remember to be proud of himself that he graduated from there. Sometimes, he gets too hard on himself, and I want to remind him that he has so much to feel accomplished about.

I really wanted to show my dad how special he is to me through this Art Care Package. I know he appreciates the simple things, and I think this is a simple and awesome way to show somebody that you are thinking of them and you care for them greatly.

  1. How is sending someone an ACP similar to sending someone a Snapchat?
    – I think sending someone an ACP is similar to sending some a Snapchat because it shows you are thinking of them. You’re taking time out of your life to send them something.
  2. How is sending someone an ACP different from sending them a Snapchat?
    – I think sending someone an ACP is different from sending a Snapchat because a Snapchat can only last for so long. An Art Care Package can last forever. I think Art Care Packages are also a lot more meaningful than a Snapchat. I mean, I know people can really detailed on their Snapchats, but I think an ACP would mean a lot more to someone.
  3. What do you think of ephemera? Is it precious? Or trash? Does it gain in value over time? Does your grandma’s parking ticket from half a century ago mean something to you? What about her tickets from Woodstock? What might your grandkids think if you one day gave them the bead bracelet you wore at Coachella?
    – I definitely think ephemera is precious. You’re talking to the girl that actually did keep her first parking ticket! Hey, I thought it would make for a good story later on in life! I think everything has meaning, big or small. Though I don’t believe in excessive hoarding, I think it’s important to keep certain things that have meaning to you. Speaking of Coachella, I hope my grandkids think I’m the coolest grandma EVER for going! That’s why I kept my wristband and the box it came in, obviously!
  4. Is there a difference between art that is seen by many people, like a painting in the Museum of Modern Art, and art that is seen by few, like the ACP you send to someone?
    – I think the only difference is the number of people who see that art. Many people can pass by that painting in the Museum of Modern Art but my ACP, for example, may only be seen by my dad! However, there is still meaning behind that piece of art, and I think that is the most important thing.
  5. You can take a Snapchat and a friend on the other side of the globe can view it, all within seconds. To make an ACP and send it even to a nearby friend will take days. Does this time and effort difference mean something? How is fast better? How is slow better?
    – Personally, I think we live in a world that is getting less and less patient, and that is why we want things faster and faster. Faster can be better simply because it’s fun. I like to send Snapchats to my friends just get that instant satisfaction that they’ve seen my picture or video. Even those “Snap Streaks” are pretty fun, where it shows that you’ve sent consecutive daily snaps to someone. However, slow is better because it teaches patience. I actually just sent one of my best friends a care package/birthday present all the way to Kentucky, and when she finally told me she got it, it was the best feeling ever! To know that my little package from California traveled all the way to her was pretty cool.
  6. People sometimes say things like prepare a meal with love. Can you prepare a meal with love as fast as you can get food at a McDonald’s drive-thru? Does an ACP have the possibility of containing a sort of “love” different from a Snapchat?
    – I don’t think a McDonald’s drive-thru meal is prepared with love like a home-cooked meal. Coming from a big, Italian family that loves their food, I know what food made with love tastes like. These meals taste like love, history, story-telling, laughs and so much more! Here, an ACP can be compared to that home-cooked meal and Snapchat can be compared to McDonald’s. Yes, the McDonald’s (Snapchat) gets to you faster and can be satisfying in the moment, but it has much less meaning than the home-cooked meal (ACP).
One Comment Add yours

  1. Glenn Zucman says:

    Beautiful Emily!

    Happy Anniversary mom & dad! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

