Week 6 Art Experience – Zines & Flip Books

Hey everyone!

This week’s Art Experience was all about Zines and Flipbooks. I had heard of flipbooks before, and I used to even make some with Post-Its when I got bored in class. So I thought I’d take on something I haven’t tried before, which were the zines. When I first saw the word ‘zine’, I automatically thought of a tiny magazine, which is kind of what I ended up making.

My zine was inspired Studio 54, the most legendary nightclub of the disco-era. In the late seventies, Studio 54 was probably the coolest place on Earth. It was started by socialites and entrepreneurs, Steve Rubell and Ian Schrager, and was located at 254 West 54th Street in Manhattan. Regular visitors included Elizabeth Taylor, Andy Warhol, Mick Jagger, Michael Jackson, Calvin Klein, Truman Capote, Cher, John Travolta, Tina Turner, Elton John and Salvador Dali, to name but a few.

As I’ve mentioned before, I am a fashion student. I have just been so fascinated and mesmerized by the glitz, glamour, intensity and fashion that surrounded Studio 54. This week, I decided I would dedicate my zine to Studio 54 and use it as an inspiration book of some sort.

In class last Wednesday, I had started putting together a zine and used the supplies we were given. However, once I got home, I realized I wanted to start over. I had already made a board on Pinterest of some of my favorite Studio 54 pictures, so I had a pretty good idea of where to start. Once I chose my pictures and found some cool graphics, I printed them out and wrote down some quotes from articles, as well as phrases or facts that I thought were interesting or related to the picture they were next to. I hole-punched my papers and decided that I didn’t want to use plain old thread or yarn to tie my zine together. I had some old headphones that stopped working, and I figured that would be a pretty unique way to tie this up. Studio 54 is synonymous with disco, so I wanted people to see the headphones, travel back to 1977 and imagine they’re listening to some Donna Summer or Bee Gees tunes.

Overall, I had a really cool time making this zine. I enjoyed it because I felt like I could really show what inspired me. Those types of projects are always fun. If I were to do this project again, however, I think I would type the words and print them out rather than write them myself because I hate my handwriting. I would also try to find a better way to secure the headphones because they were kind of loose even after I knotted them in the back of the zine.

Here’s a look at the finished product below! Hope you like it…

One Comment Add yours

  1. Glenn Zucman says:

    Fantastic project Emily!

    Not only a great use of old, dead earbuds… but if you were thinking about making a Zine to have somebody like Tiny Splendor Press (the LA Zine publisher that publishes all the Zines you see on the Zine Rack at Small World Books in Venice Beach) publish for real, you might include “real” (working) earbuds. That’d make the Zine sell for a few more $$, but it’d be a pretty cool thing that I think peeps would love! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

