Week 5 Art Experience – Graffiti Writing

Hey everyone! It’s Week 5 here in ART 110, and our Art Experience for the week was “Graffiti Writing.”

I thought this assignment would be super fun because I’m from San Pedro. Now, why does it matter that I’m from San Pedro? Well, I’d say 90% of the time I tell people I’m from San Pedro, they respond, “Woah, have you ever been to Sunken City?!”

San Pedro is probably most known for Sunken City. For those of you who don’t already know, Sunken City is a beach along the cliffs of San Pedro that holds the remains of a natural landslide that occurred in 1929. Today, unfortunately, the area is technically not open to the public. ‘No Trespassing’ signs have been put up due to crime and other incidents that have occurred there, though those signs often get ignored by people who want to check out the scenic area for themselves. This hidden tourist attraction is interesting because graffiti artists have added their own flavor to the ruins over the years.

w1siziisinvwbg9hzhmvcgxhy2vfaw1hz2vzlzywnjyzowi0zgq1zwrinjiwyv9eu0mwodaxmi5qcgcixsxbinailcj0ahvtyiisijk4mhhcdtawm2uixsxbinailcjjb252zxj0iiwilxf1ywxpdhkgoteglwf1dg8tb3jpzw50il1d
Courtesy of Erin Johnson
w1siziisinvwbg9hzhmvcgxhy2vfaw1hz2vzlzywnjyzowi0zgq1zwrinjiwyv9eu0mwodazmc5qcgcixsxbinailcj0ahvtyiisijk4mhhcdtawm2uixsxbinailcjjb252zxj0iiwilxf1ywxpdhkgoteglwf1dg8tb3jpzw50il1d
Courtesy of Erin Johnson
w1siziisinvwbg9hzhmvcgxhy2vfaw1hz2vzlzywnjyzowi0zgq1zwrinjiwyv9eu0mwodaxmi5qcgcixsxbinailcj0ahvtyiisijk4mhhcdtawm2uixsxbinailcjjb252zxj0iiwilxf1ywxpdhkgoteglwf1dg8tb3jpzw50il1d
Courtesy of Erin Johnson

Anyways! To make a long story short, Sunken City is a beautiful, interesting attraction in the city I grew up in, and if you’re interested in hiking, graffiti, and a gorgeous view, I would definitely recommend checking it out if you are ever in the area!

Now, when it comes my project for the week, I definitely got some inspiration from Sunken City, but to be perfectly honest, it definitely didn’t come out the way I planned on. I had been looking up cool graffiti writing online, but when it came down to actually doing it myself, it was kind of a big FAIL.IMG_4019.png

Above, is a picture of my practice drawing that I drew with a black marker before I went out and spray-painted. I found a graffiti font online that I really liked, so I thought I’d try it out on paper first. After that, I gathered my supplies, which included my pink and blue spray paints that I got in my ART 110 kit, a large piece of cardboard, and some silver/chrome spray paint that my uncle let me borrow.

I haven’t really had any experience with spray paint before, so I was a little nervous to see how this would all turn out. First, I sprayed the cardboard with the chrome paint so that I could have a lighter colored background. I tested out the different cap sizes on a separate piece of cardboard, but I was getting frustrated because it was really hard to see a difference is the sizes. The “Ultra Skinny Cap” was not as skinny as I thought it would be, so I knew I wouldn’t be able to get those super fine details like in my sketch. I took the pink spray paint and began spraying some bubble letters to spell out my name. Then, I took the blue and sprayed a border around the pink letters. I repeated this process a couple of times because I changed my mind a lot. Once I was done with the pink and the blue spray paints, I took the chrome paint again and sprayed it from higher up so that it would splatter a little bit and give the board a sparkle effect.

I cleaned up and called it a day because it was getting really hot outside and I was kiiiiinda satisfied with how it all turned out. My cousin and my mom made fun of me because they said this was the “softest” graffiti they had ever seen (LOL). Yeah, so it might not be some hard graffiti art you’d see at Sunken City, but whatever! Though my graffiti art didn’t turn out anything like my original sketch, I still had a lot of fun doing this project. I got a little frustrated here and there with the whole cap situation and then changing my mind constantly, but I feel like this is an activity that I would do again on my own to try and get better and better.

I will definitely keep you all updated when I do it again!

Leave a Reply

