Week 4 Art Experience – Automatic Drawing

What’s up, guys! We’re in Week 4 of ART 110, and this week’s Art Experience was called “Automatic Drawing”.

When I first heard about this Art Experience project, I was intrigued because I felt like this was something I used to try and do when I was a kid and I was bored in class. I would close my eyes and just let my hands circle around and around and around the piece of paper and just see what happened! People probably thought I was weird, but whatever. It was pretty relaxing for me, so I was excited to try and do it again as an adult.

However, I gotta be honest and let you all know that I have been sick the past few days, and my motivation to do anything was at an all time low. I had a fever and a cold and my body ached day and night. BUT you gotta do what you gotta do! So I went ahead and started this project.

I originally wanted to ask one of my sorority sisters if they wanted to help me with this project because I knew we needed a partner, and I thought this would be pretty fun. However, since my mom was the one that got me sick in the first place, I figured it would probably be better to sit with her and do it so I didn’t get anybody else sick. She was also really helpful a couple weeks back when we were doing the Plaster Casting Activity.

img_3896

My mom is always great whenever I need her to help me with projects like this. When I tell her what needs to be done, she always listens. She knew that I was not feeling my best the day we did this, so she was extra helpful. As I tried not to drip snot or sweat onto the paper, we closed our eyes and drew around and around and around, just like how I used to do when I was a kid. Even though I was sick, this was a nice, relaxing activity that I could do and just forget about everything for a few minutes. After about 3 minutes, I needed to stop and grab a tissue, but I was pretty pleased with the results so far. It kind of reminded me of a galaxy or something.

img_3899

Once we were finished with the pencil drawing, I let my mom go and thanked her for help. However, I wasn’t really pleased with just leaving the drawing how it was (above). I wanted to add some color so that I could maybe add some emotion to it.

I used markers to fill in random sections here and there with spurs of color. I had a lot going on in my head this last week so I wanted to represent that here and show how my week was a little chaotic. If you look closely, I added more of the red and dark orange colors because, having a cold and a fever, I felt very hot while doing all of this!

Overall, I thought this project was definitely relaxing. It brought me back to the carefree days of being a little kid and doodling in class. I remember I would do that almost every day. As much as I would love to do that now in college and be more carefree, there is just so much going on in class, and even in life. This may sound cheesy, but looking at the end result now, I feel like this picture kind of represents my life now. It’s a chaotic, swirly mess, and it just keeps going around and around and around

One Comment Add yours

  1. Glenn Zucman says:

    Hope you’re feeling better Emily! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

