Week 2 Art Experience – Landscape With A Corpse

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Processed with VSCO with g3 preset – Picture Credit: Kaitlin Tomasello
Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Processed with VSCO with g3 preset – Picture Credit: Kaitlin Tomasello

I’d like to call this one, Circle the Drain. Get it?

So I found this week’s art activity to be quite creepy, obviously. I mean, posing dead for a project is something I never thought I would be doing in college! However, once I figured out an idea in my head of what I wanted to portray, I couldn’t wait to get started! A couple of weeks ago, I was watching this documentary that focused on celebrity deaths, many of which involved overdoses. From John Belushi to Anna Nicole Smith to Heath Ledger, I would definitely say drug-related celebrity deaths were my inspiration for this shoot. For some reason, the topic is just so fascinating to me.

I recruited my older sister, Kaitlin, to help me out. She and I went to the mall where we found ‘bath bombs’ at this store called Lush. These ‘bath bombs’ change the color of the water in your bathtub and also make it smell really good! I bought one called “Twilight” which gave the water a dark purple/red color, which I figured I could edit later if the color didn’t come out the way I wanted it to. I thought that adding color to the water would give these shots some added creepiness.

In addition to the colored water, I knew I wanted to throw in some pill bottles to add to the story that I was trying to portray. I still had these pill bottles in my bathroom cabinet from when I got my wisdom teeth removed two years ago! (Score!) And don’t be alarmed. The pills pictured on the side of the tub are actually just Women’s Daily Vitamins and some Iron supplements. Gotta get your vitamins!

Aside from the fact that I find over-glamorized celebrity overdoses interesting, I wouldn’t necessarily say that I have any sort of personal connection with drug-related topics. I have not met anybody or had anybody in my life who had a drug problem to the point where they overdosed, so I guess I’m pretty fortunate in that aspect. I honestly could not imagine how that must feel for people who have had to go through that with a loved one. However, this was definitely an interesting experience getting to step out of my comfort zone in order to get this story across. I think art is one of the best ways to tell controversial stories like this one and portray a certain message. Hopefully, I did that here.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Glenn Zucman says:

    beautiful work Emily – the “Lush bomb” really helped!

    Like

Leave a Reply

